Bess Rogers

I discovered Bess when I found out she was Ingrid Michaelson’s backup singer a few years ago. After hearing Bess’s small handful of albums, I realized she’s a better writer than Ingrid (and I love Ingrid, don’t get me wrong). And I like Bess’s voice a lot, it’s like Ingrid’s but with less affectation, I think. The melodies Bess writes are just more soaring, interesting, and quirky. Still catchy as hell, but something sets it apart from the typical pop. One of my favorite songs of hers is “Weak Link” (the last video featured here).

I think Rogers lives in Ingrid’s shadow, a lot. But hopefully, this post will shine a spotlight on her. Because she’s fucking incredible, by herself. Thanks, Bess.

 

 

 

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on July 11, 2016, in +++ female vocals, +++ indie folk, +++ indiepop, +++ indierock, +++ pop, +++ power pop, +++ supercatchy, +++ vocal harmonies, Bess Rogers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

