Arrogants

Arrogants

I discovered Arrogants (as many bands I absolutely LOVE) through my former student, Mazzy (yes, her real name, after Mazzy Star). She got me into soooo many great bands from 2010-2011…. it’s insane. Thank you, Mazzy.

Sadly, the music of Arrogants is no longer. They broke up, I believe way back in the mid-2000s…. but man, did they leave some great music behind.

I’m spinning all their stuff today, because the weather is in the mid-60s, and it is perfect music for a perfect-weather day, with the windows of my house fully open.

Amazingly, the band leaves all of their music to be freely downloaded and distributed, in the wake of their demise. Get it ALL here…. (two EPs and a gigantic, 23-song full-length).

http://www.arrogants.com/songs.html

What’s their music like? In a word, perfect. Fun, catchy, surfy, twee, power-pop, acoustic folk, etc… absolutely charming vocals and vocal melodies over perfectly-arranged, short indie-pop chords. Sometimes with fast drums, sometimes without… and oh yeah, the lyrics are PERFECT.

Some standouts-– “Why T.A.N.G. is my  favorite band”, “The Incurables”, and “Nobody’s Cool” (all three are from the Nobody’s Cool EP). GET EVERY ONE OF THEIR SONGS. Seriously… it’s free! And you’ll be glad you grabbed it all, after you hear it.

“The Incurables”

“Nobody’s Cool”

“I Want You”

“The Distance Between Us”

I want to make music like this with my girlfriend. She’s got a similar voice, sorta…. I say this to everyone (including her)… when it comes to great music, it’s all about the melodies.

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on September 14, 2014, in +++ 60s-influenced, +++ dreampop, +++ female vocals, +++ folk, +++ indierock, +++ minimalist, +++ new wave, +++ pop, +++ twee, +++ vocal harmonies, Arrogants. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

