Minor Alps (Juliana Hatfield & Matthew Caws from Nada Surf)

 

There are a few major musical influences of mine… that I’ve always cited as my main, main musical influences. I would say the main list is always: Juliana Hatfield, Nada Surf, Ida, The Album Leaf, Azure Ray, The Smiths…. and a few others.

The fact that fate brought Juliana Hatfield and Matthew Caws together to make music is just a beautiful, beautiful thing. Juliana Hatfield has been a huge musical influence of mine for over 20 years. And I loved Nada Surf when they first came out, but when I realized that Nada Surf was becoming better & better with every single album… they quickly became one of my favorite bands.

These two were just destined to make music together. They are both indie rock legends. And I think they’re about the same age (mid-4os).

I love when the DJ says “I feel like I’m witnessing magic!” right after their first song. I feel exactly the same.

A few days ago I picked up a Minor Alps t-shirt, and their debut album (yes, people still actually do buy CDs). 🙂

Enjoy!

 

 

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on January 21, 2014, in +++ female vocals, +++ folk, +++ indierock, +++ minimalist, +++ mixed vocals (female & male), +++ multi-instrumentalists, +++ pop, +++ vocal harmonies, Juliana Hatfield, Matthew Caws, Minor Alps, Nada Surf. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

