Mindy Smith

mindysmith

Ya know, I hate Christian lyrics/artists…. really not my thing at all. But there’s an exception: Mindy Smith. She’s someone who doesn’t preach much in her music (well, in her second album, anyway– her first record has an opening track called “Come To Jesus”…. but I still like that album, too). I think her best record is her second, “Long Island Shores.” She’s been around just over a decade, and I dunno… I’ve really loved her sound since first hearing her.

She has one of the most pleasant voices in modern folk/country... I don’t know what it is… her melodies and her phrasing… she’s just damn good….  her voice is never annoying. It’s just warm, pleasant. The kind of voice I’d love a girlfriend of mine to have, if I ever had another girlfriend.

I could listen to this record over and over (and I have). I haven’t heard much of her music beyond her first two records, but I dunno, as I spin this record, I figured I’d write about her on my blog.

And for the record, the second song listed here, “Tennessee” (written entirely by her)….. fucking FANTASTIC SONG. Gives me chills. That is all.

Give her a shot. You may like her sound. Again, it’s not preachy Christian stuff… just damn good “Nashville-sound” songwriting.

 

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on September 28, 2013, in +++ "Nashville" sound, +++ alt-country, +++ female vocals, +++ folk, +++ vocal harmonies, Mindy Smith. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I totally agree with you about Mindy Smith. She has an incredible voice, her own style and sound, and is an amazing songwriter. For me, the producer who best captured her is Steve Buckingham who produced her first CD. (Her sophomore project was my least favorite.) But she is a talented, incredible writer. Thanks for blogging about her. Keep it up because she can’t have enough publicity as far as I’m concerned.

    And she’s great live, too!

Leave a Reply

