Wheat

OHHHH, WHEAT!!! Holy FUCK, what a GREAT band. Where and when did I discover them? I was in Barnes and Noble on Superbowl Sunday, 2006. I didn’t give two shits about the superbowl (and I still don’t), so I decided to scan random CDs in the music section. I came across their album “Per Second, Per Second, Per Second…. Every Second”, which was released on Aware/Columbia Records (same label that put out John Mayer’s old stuff), in 2003. So I was like, ok…. I really liked the album art and such, so I scanned the barcode and could sample all the tracks from the record….. I was fucking floored. Just perfect songs. PERFECT songs.

Then, in 2007, I saw Elizabethtown for the first time…. which is in my top 5 ALL-TIME favorite films…. and during the final montage (the “road trip / mix CD” thing)…. Kirsten Dunst says… “some music…. needs air. Roll down your window.” And right after she says that, Wheat’s perfect song “Don’t I Hold You” plays. When I discovered it was Wheat, I was like… fuck. New favorite band? No doubt.

I’m listening to the album I wrote about above right now as I write this, and I knew I had to write about them on Underrated Music. Bands this good are just…. it’s just a very special feeling, discovering them and listening to them.

If you don’t love this band’s songs, you have a deficiency in your soul. Love them, SUPPORT THEM. Go to their shows, email them! Do SOMETHING. I think Wheat is the next Crowded House– just PERFECT fuckin’ songs. Studying their music is Songwriting 101, seriously.

And lastly, the gorgeous song from the movie Elizabethtown:

I just realized that the background of this blog, and my other (songwritingandrecordingtips.wordpress.com) has disappeared. Where’s my friggin’ background graphic? This blog looks so monochrome, now. I miss my colorful header graphic. Fuck you, WordPress! Oh, and I just noticed that my Nada Surf entry is fucking GONE from the side menu. What? What OTHER bands are missing? Ahh… Minipop, too. What the FUCK!!

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in +++ dreampop, +++ indierock, +++ pop, +++ power pop, +++ vocal harmonies, Uncategorized, Wheat. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great review 🙂 I just found your website from this.

Leave a Reply

