Louis Cole

NOTE: For the first few posts on this blog, I’m going to write about all the YouTube people connected to the first band I blogged about (Pomplamoose, aka Jack Conte and Nataly Dawn)…. because I think these musicians (who all happen to be friends with Pomplamoose) are all brilliant, talented, uber-catchy songwriters with a strong knack of melody and arrangement, and deserve our attention, ears, and support ($$$). If you aren’t immediately swooning upon the first few seconds of each of these videos, you have a deficiency in your soul.

After Julia Nunes, Lauren O’Connell, and Ryan Lerman, comes Louis Cole. I don’t know much about Louis at all, except the fact that he’s a really damn good drum-n-bass/jungle drummer, and is one half of the weird drum-n-bass/electro duo Louis and Geneveive.

On his own (without Genevieve), Louis is one ridiculously talented songwriter and singer. I first heard his solo music from Jack Conte’s Twitter… where he was basically freaking out about his song “Below The Valleys”… I decided to give it a listen (even though I’m not terribly into the music he does with Genevieve)…. and man, was I blown away.

“Below The Valleys” is a fuckin’ GREAT SONG. It is so perfect, it literally makes me want to quit playing music and writing songs, entirely…. and just talk about all the great songs out there, already.

When I hear Louis’ gorgeous falsetto throughout the chorus (in the background and in the lead vocal… I get so sad, because I have no falsetto anymore, after teaching music for several years, and having a vocal cord surgery in 2008…. and basically losing my falsetto entirely in February of this year after a horrible flu)……. it sucks not being able to sing along with this gorgeous song.

Louis effortlessly channels the sound and vibe of Brian Wilson so well, it brings tears to my eyes. How the fuck Louis channeled the 60s/retro spirit SO PERFECTLY in this song (with every single instrument, his melodies, and the chord sequence), I will never know. Pure, pure songwriting GENIUS. Thank you, Louis, for making this masterpiece. Can’t wait to hear what else you have up your sleeve.

About chriscaulder

music.film.books.food.sleep.

Posted on February 5, 2012, in +++ 60s-influenced, +++ dreampop, +++ pop, Louis Cole, videosongs. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Cool article; checking these guys out and found it- Excited to dig in to their music even more.

Leave a Reply

